Picture
Creating a brochure about birds seems easy enough, at first. Nature Untold breezed through our flyer making. Yet, we were not done. We need more and boy did we get more. The introduction to gaining the ability to make such a brochure, for which I was sadly absent, was to go to the Kingsville Visitor Center and speak to the man in charge. For the stories Gilberto and Tamara disclosed with me, it was an ear full. With unclear goals we set about getting in contact with someone containing more expertise than we had. For the Nature Untold organization has little to no knowledge about birds. My partner Tamara and I have a professor, Dr. Hernandez, who studies upland quail. We sought him out, with high hopes of gaining some insight. After a quick discuss and the borrowing of tape, he gave us a contact, Mr. Langschied.

Picture
He emailed Mr. Langschied on our behalf and with a simple explanation of what we were asking for. We then contacted the birding expert ourselves and set up a when and where to meet. Shortly afterwards we discovered that he was the one that my group was first told about at the Visitor Center. Happy to have some head way we meet up with Mr. Langschied. This is when we learned that he had helped with the current brochure sometime back in 1990s. He gave us greater depth into birds, how to classify them on a wider variety and some helpful hints on how to create the brochure. Each member dutifully took notes as we listened to the excited birder. He offered us a few other contacts that are currently in the works of reaching.

Picture
Mr. Langschied was kind enough to offer to either met or take us to different hot spots around Kingsville and Bishop. He told us that many policies have changed and that we should double check them. Places such as the golf course; he advised us to speak to them about their visiting polices. We have a good start; so we thought. We were eager to bring back our good news to the man with the final say. Nature Untold could hardly get a word in sideways. We were cut off on a constant rate by a man with a time frame. The group fritted in their seats as more contacts were thrown at us. The feeling that we bit off more than we could chew was slowly crawling its way through our minds. He wants us to cross check, double check, and gain an audience with all the experts he expects us to see. Not only do we have to see experts, we are supposed to meet up with an artist somehow and create a map for the birding tail. Not only does this trail have to include birds but he wants restaurants. The assistant was not too thrilled about how we wanted to classify the birds by either. We listened to them silently, not much else we could do, as they happily expressed what they wanted while telling us it was our project. There was mixed signals going all around. The meeting was supposed to clear up any misdirection, yet it seemed to only add to the confusion. Kingsville Visitor Center has good intentions, we as a group will try to make good on them.

 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Ashley Abreu 
    I am an animal lover and I am determined to do whatever it takes to reach my goals. I set personal goals and I reach them. I do not tolerate set backs, they are merely building blocks for me. My self drive motivates others to join in. This is both surprising and joyous to me. I was not aware that my determination would rub off onto others as much as it does. I also love working with Parks and Wildlife. The experiences I have gained from them just adds fuel to my fire. 

    Archives

    October 2012

    Categories

    All