Picture
Nature Untold has been given an opportunity to give back to the community. Gilberto and I traveled to the Kingsville Visitor Center to research places that are not well known in Kingsville.  I was looking for information on a bird sanctuary called Santa Gertrudis Creek Bird Sanctuary to provide them with an informational flier; I had not known about the bird sanctuary and thought others may not either. I asked the director of the visitor center, Mr. Bob Trescott, if he had any knowledge in regards to a bird sanctuary in Kingsville.  He gave me a puzzling look, and to the computer he went.  


Picture
We did some research and found that the place called “bird sanctuary” was too formal of a name. It turns out that it was, in fact, a beautiful sanctuary for birds long ago.  Sadly, with the city’s lack of interest in the preservation, it is now unmanaged.  Some people have volunteered over the years to attempt to preserve it, but many do not have the time.  Mr. Trescott then brings up the opportunity of revising a bird brochure for the visitor center.  “You will be legends,” he says. Since Ashley was not able to attend, I told Mr. Trescott that we would have to discuss the project with our other group member.

Picture
The group met and decided to take on the task.  We asked Dr. Fidel Hernandez who he thought would be the best person to inform us
about birds. He emailed Mr. Tom Langschied about our need for information on birds. My group then met with Mr. Langschied, who advised us on ways to list the birds’ common or taxonomical name, and also gave us the name of someone who could better inform us about birds. The meeting helped us to understand so much more of which bird species reside in Kingsville.
I learned that the Green Jay is known as the bird of Kingsville.  Seeing Mr. Langschied’s eyes light up when he spoke about different kinds of birds, shows me that he is passionate about what he does. I hope that, one day, I can find passion in my future job as he has.

Picture
After our meeting with Mr. Langschied, we decided to meet with Mr. Trescott at the visitor center. This meeting did not go as well as I thought. My group and I felt so accomplished with the information that we were given that it was a bit of a surprise when the meeting didn’t go as well as we had planned. We felt that what we had learned was not being taken into consideration and were given instructions that collided with our findings. Mr. Trescott gave us more contact numbers for the birding aspect of the project and also referred us to an artist that may help us with the cover art and the map part of the brochure. This is a busy project, but I know that my group members and I will work through this.  I am proud that we have such an amazing opportunity being able to work on this project and to meet new people.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Tamara Lee. I am currently a junior at Texas A&M University-Kingsville.  I am majoring in Range and Wildlife Management with a Range emphasis.  When I graduate from college, I wish to work for Texas Parks and Wildlife as a park ranger.

    Archives

    October 2012

    Categories

    All