Picture
Located about an hour and a half from Texas A&M University- Kingsville is Mustang Island State Park.  It is quite a distance from campus, 68 miles, but it is well worth the drive.  When approaching the entrance, you will see an oddly shaped sign showing “Mustang Island State Park.”  The Mustang Island State Park resides on about 3,954 acres and contains 5 miles of beach.  The park was founded in 1972 and finally accessible to the public seven years later. The Karankawa Indians are known to be the first inhabitants along the Gulf Coast, including Mustang Island State Park.  They were able to endure in the region until the 19th century, which is when the Spanish explorers invaded the surrounding area. Spanish explorers first named the island “Wild Horse Island,” since there were wild horses inhabiting the area. They later decided to rename the island to “Mustang Island.”

Picture
At any beach, one will find that there are many sand dunes.  When I was a child, I always thought that they were imported for cosmetic feature on the beach.  Little did I know, sand dunes are used to help prevent wind and water damage that is produced by storms.  They also provide a habitat for endangered species and numerous species of plants.  Without sand dunes, many inland areas would be destroyed and many plant and animal species could not survive in the coastal areas.  During the fall of 2010, two of my friends and I decided to take a camping trip to Mustang Island.  We had to purchase a beach parking permit to ensure the park rangers that we had permission to stay at the park overnight.  I would recommend you to bring extra blankets and extra batteries for your flashlights.  Even though it may seem hot during the day, it can be quite chilly at night. The day that we traveled back to Texas A&M- Kingsville, we had to drive with the windows open, we smelled like salt, sweat and sand! 

Picture
While walking on the beach, you need to watch where you step.  Many people say that they want to take a romantic walk along the beach; well they evidently have not mistaken a dead Portuguese Man-of-War body for a clump of seaweed. I have not either, but I hear that it is painful.  When the dead bodies of the Portuguese man-of-war wash onto the shore, they still have the ability to sting.  During the spring of 2012, my friends and I arrived at Mustang Island around sunset.  As we walked along the beach, I noticed that there were many Portuguese man-of-war bodies that had washed ashore.  Since the upper portion, or "head," of the Portuguese Man-of-War appeared to be jelly-like, we wondered what it would feel like if we touched it, but never developed the courage.  We also had fun chasing little blue crabs that scurried from the ocean water to their hideaway.  Some of the blue crabs had the courage to chase us around the beach too, which is funny to think that something so small could scare something the size of a human.  I guess that is how they survive in the wild.



Picture
Also located along the water’s edge, were these tiny fish, Blacktail Shiner.  They seemed so helpless; the water was not strong enough to pull them back into the water.  Seeing the Blacktail Shiner flopping around like a fish out of water, we tried to help throw them back into the ocean.  Sometimes there were at least one or two visible, but sometimes there were too many for us to throw back into the ocean before they died. I would recommend people to visit Mustang Island at least one point in their life.  I have had many good times with friends, became closer to some, and had many laughs.

 




Justin Martinez
10/22/2012 03:19:00 am

Hello, my name is Justin. I found this blog quite interesting because I am from the area. I enjoy that there are others that appreciate the island as much as I do. Although I have visited the island many times, I have never learned where the name originated. The origin was an interesting story, and I am glad I came across it.

Reply
10/22/2012 03:20:42 am

My name is Michael Hall I am the Graphic Designer for the South Texas Farm and Ranch Association. What really drew me to your blog was my love for salt water fishing and the beach life. I really enjoyed reading your vivid detail of Mustang Island and about its proximity to our TAMUK campus. Very good review and I will personally take the time to visit Mustang Island in the near future.

Reply
10/22/2012 03:22:44 am

Hello, my name is Amy, and I wanted to read and comment on your blog because I found your review on Mustang Island to be fun and interesting, mostly because I was always curious about it but never knew what was there or if it was any fun; and I learned it would be a great place to visit and see local wildlife such as a Man-of-War, which I have never seen before, thank you for your review and sharing your personal story.

Reply
10/22/2012 03:26:03 am

Hello, my name is Leo. This blog caught my attention because I travel to this area occasionally. The pictures and the article drew me to the blog and allowed me to continue reading more. The background story hooked me; I found it very interesting and informational. All in all, great job on this blog.

Reply
10/22/2012 03:45:12 am

Hello, my name is Jessica Miller. What drew me to this blog was the beautiful pictures of the beach. I have lived here in Kingsville for fifteen years and never heard or been to Mustang Island State Park. After reading your blog and seeing all the beautiful pictures of the beach, sand dunes and sealife, I will consider taking the hour and a half drive to Mustang Island next summer and seeing for myself what an amazing place it is.

Reply
10/22/2012 10:46:42 am

Hello my name is Victoria Haynes and your blog really intrigued my love for the outdoors. I enjoy traveling to local beaches and spending the night at different parks. Unfortunately, I have never been to Mustang Island State Park but hope to visit in the future. I enjoyed your photos and your story.

Reply
Ben Hollon
10/24/2012 12:12:57 am

Hello my name is Ben Hollon I was interested in your blog because I have been going to Mustang Island for many years and never knew how it got its name. Thanks for the information.

Reply
10/24/2012 12:24:17 am

My name is Calan Coleman, I am enrolled in Dr. Carstensen's 9 am class. i was drawn to your particular blog thanks to the picture of the Mustang Island road sign at the top of your blog.
I have spent many an afternoon on the beach there fishing and swimming with family and friends. Long story short, I thought your blog was put together very well. The description of the atmosphere and wildlife found on the beach was very thoughtful. If you hadn't had the photos to accent your blog, I would have still been able to picture what your were describing.

Reply
10/24/2012 12:29:13 am

Hello my name is Chad Ussery and i was interested in your blog because I grew up in corpus and have been to Mustang island many times. I also liked the pictures you have provided to help show what you are talking about for those who have never heard of some of these things such as the Portuguese Man-of-War. Good job, I enjoyed your blog the most so far.

Reply
Cydnee Edwards
10/24/2012 12:48:52 am

Hi my name is Cydnee and I am a Vet major at TAMUK. I was drawn to your blog by the pictures and the fact that I love the beach. I really would like to go and visit this park and see exactly what you were able to experience. It sounds liks you had a blast despite the crabs chasing you. That even sounded fun unless they catch you. I learned that Man-of-War are not jellyfish. That is weird but also cool at the same time. You showed me that this is a really cool place to visit and possibly stay over night. I love the way that you added some history about this area and what has brought it to have this really cool name. I really want to visit this park now.

Reply
10/24/2012 03:25:20 am

Hi my name is Stephanie and I am the Public Relation for Sports and Recreation. I was drawn to your website because I love the beach and since I am in school I do not get the chance to go to South Padre as much as I would like to. I never knew Mustang Island State Park existed and am now interested in visiting. I loved learning about the san dunes I did not know they had a specific purpose for the environment. It was a great blog and very informative.

Reply
Kevin Allen
10/24/2012 03:42:36 am

Hello my name is Kevin Allen, and I really enjoyed your blog. I've been to Mustang Island twice, once with family, and the other with a giant group of friends. I lived in California for a little bit, so the beach was a big part of my life growing up. With the beach so close to where I live now now I can go whenever I want to, It's like things haven't changed.

Reply
Trevor Kalich
10/26/2012 04:22:55 am

Hello, I am from the Camo and Casting Outdoor Updates organization. Seeing the your pictures from the beach drew me to your blog. I love going to the beach anytime. It is a way to escape life and enjoy the scenery. I have been past mustang Island many times but have never went there. From your blog it sounds like a great place. Now that I know more about it I will have to give it a try. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Tamara Lee. I am currently a junior at Texas A&M University-Kingsville.  I am majoring in Range and Wildlife Management with a Range emphasis.  When I graduate from college, I wish to work for Texas Parks and Wildlife as a park ranger.

    Archives

    October 2012

    Categories

    All